top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Final Thoughts.

It's May 24th 2018. A Thursday. It marks the very last day of our Contextual Studies subject. Am I emotional? A little. It makes me think that just 5 months ago, we were being briefed about what contextual studies is all about and how we were all excited to write an essay about our favorite superhero. Yes, there were ups and downs when we, my classmates or I personally felt like it was so much to handle as some things just don't always go our way but here we are, the last submission of our assignment.

I really enjoyed this subject because not only did learn more about art and design but I learnt to appreciate almost all the good and bad, beautiful and ugly things of design. How and why something is made that particular way, how a messages is being portrayed and why is it being portrayed that way.

Contextual studies have really made me think of any and every possible ways I could think of to do a particular thing. I enjoyed writing the essay that kicked off this journey because it made me see things in a different perspective. How Black Widow is being portrayed, why she is the way she is, what made her the Black Widow. Because let's be real, not everyone will have the initiative to learn about a certain character or study a certain character just to know a tad more. Most of us just watch and enjoy the movie.

From my experience, when I watched the Avengers, Infinity War movie, when Black Widow appeared, I kid you not, I felt super emotional and proud of her. That is because I knew her story, I knew what she had gone through, I knew her character and I knew who she was and who she is now. This movie was obviously released months after my essay was submitted so it would make sense that I had already knew a lot about the character.

That is what I mean by truly understanding the whys, hows, and the whats of something.

And now, the final video. Boy, this was a journey. My group mates, Joanna, Jennifer and I would be lying if we said we did not struggle at all because we did. We definitely did. Sometimes we were lost, sometimes we were stuck with the ideas, confused with what we wanted to do but we managed to pull through and finalize our ideas. It wasn't easy but it was a good experience. We didn't have many problems filming this video (well, besides lack of time) and finding space from everyone's schedule but we did have an issue with the audio as we did not have professional mics with us to film it. We had to work with earphones and also the voice memos app on our phones but hopefully, we made it work.

But it was all worth it when we watched the final outcome. We are proud of what we have managed to produce. It took about 2-3 weeks of filming and a lot of planning. We were fortunate enough because we had a lot of help from our friends and also the facilities prepared for us. We believed that this video did manage to convey the message that we wanted to put out there.

Before I end this post, I would like to thank Mr Charles our lecturer for this subject for all the guidance and patience he had with us. ( FID July 2017 SEM 2, yall know we were a pain) not really but REALLY. Hopefully our hard work would pay off!

thank you,

Mae Jane Ng.

bottom of page